Skip to content ↓

St John's C of E Middle School Academy



Chair of Governors
Mrs Julie Foy

Headteacher (CEO The Spire Learning Trust)
Mr. Geraint Roberts

Head of School / Schools Direct Executive
Mrs Alison Elwell

Deputy Headteacher
Mr Kevin Medway 

Assistant Headteacher
Mr. Hanson Cheuk

Director of ITT + Early Years Support
Mrs Derval Carey-Jenkins 

Year 5 

 Head of Year
Mr. D. Owen

Room Teacher
Room 1 Miss S. Watts
Room 2 Miss K. Devey
Room 3  Miss E. Taylor
Room 4 Miss M. Jarvis
Room 5 Mrs C. Woodward
Room 6 Mr L. Hall

Year 6 

 Head of Year
Mrs C. Hirons

Room Teacher
Room 7 Mr. G. Monaghan 
Room 8  Mr. M. Cowdery
(Miss S. Pemberton - teaching room)
Room 9 Head of Humanities
(Mrs M. Barnes - supply)
Room 10  Miss S. Young
Room 11 Miss A. Carey-Jenkins
Room 17 Miss K. North

Year 7 

 Head of Year
Mr. K. Hirst

Room Teacher
Room 12 Mr. C. Silvester
Room 13 Mrs M. Mosseri
Room 14 Mr. M. Ridge
Room 15 Mr. J. Swain
Room 16 Mr. A. Meehan
(Mrs L. Moyle - teaching room)
Lab 2 Dr. J. Dowler

Year 8 

 Head of Year
Ms R. Bourne

Room Teacher
Room 18 Miss K. Taylor
Room 19 Mrs J. Davenport
Room 20 Miss R. Sedgwick
Room 21 Miss N. Birmingham
(Ms R. Bourne - teaching room)
Lab 1 Mr. M. Field

Additional Staff 

Miss C. Russell Mrs V. Norris
Mr. D. McEvilly

Departmental Heads 

Department Teacher
Head of English Miss S. Pemberton
Head of Art Mrs J. Davenport
Head of Geography Mr. K. Hirst
Head of Music Miss C. Russell
Head of Spiritual & Social Education (SSE) Mrs C. Woodward
Assistant Head of SSE Miss R. Sedgewick
Head of Maths Mrs L. Moyle
Asisstant Head of Maths Mr. M. Ridge
Head of DT Mr. A. Meehan
Head of History Mr. D. McEvilly
Head of Science Mr. M. Field
Head of French Mrs M. Mosseri
Head of ICT Mr. H. Cheuk
Head of PE Miss N. Birmingham
Educational Visits Co-Ordinator
Staff Health and Safety Representative
Miss N. Birmingham


Safeguarding Lead
Mr. K. Medway (Deputy Headteacher)

Mr G. Roberts (Headteacher/CEO)

Mrs A. Elwell (Head of School)

Mrs J. Gagen (Safeguarding Administrations/Admissions)

Pupil Premium Support Teacher 

Mrs S. Armstrong 
English Miss C. Reynolds
English Mrs L. Morrell
Maths Mrs J. Chambers
Maths Mr. L. Luijk
Maths Mr. N. Price
Maths Mrs K. Oakes

Support & SEN 

Mr. D. McEvilly


Support Assistants

Ms A. Southall

Mrs S. Broom

Ms A.Buckley

Ms S. Henderson

Mrs E. Jude

Mrs M. Abraham

Miss A. Blackburn

Mrs C. Scarratt

Miss E. Smith

Mr. P. Hirons

Mrs P. Fearon



Science/DT Technician
Mrs J. Bafletowska 


PE Technician
Mrs J. Jennings


Health and Safety Officer

Mrs A. Salsano


General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) Officer
Mr. H. Cheuk


Extended Services 

Extended Services Manager/TA
Mrs C. Scarratt/Ms A. Southall


Breakfast Club Staff
Ms A. Southall Ms C. Cranston
Mrs S. Broome Miss E.Smith


After School Club Staff
Mrs C. Scarrett Mrs J. Bafeltowska
Miss A. Blackburn Miss E. Smith
Ms C. Cranston  


IT Manager
Mr. S. Chadwick

Office Administrators 

Role Staff
Office Manager/PA to Headteacher Mrs J. Perrey
Office Administrator Mrs J. Gittings
Office Administrator/Attendance Officer Mrs J. Martin
Office Administrator/Cover Mrs E. Kolb
Office/Website Administrator Miss L. Perrey
Finance Officer Mrs P. Adams
Finance Assistant Mrs N. Wallace
Finance Assistant Mrs D. Walker
Accountant Mrs S. Spence

Site Manager 

Site Manager
Mr. S. Reeves

Kitchen Staff 

Role Staff
Manager Mrs D. Marshall
Assistant Manager Mrs T. Salisbury
Kitchen Assistant Miss N. Williams

Lunchtime Supervisors 

Lunchtime Supervisors
Mrs J. Ashmore Mrs E.Rowland Mrs K. Chinn Mrs C. Cranston
Mrs A. Chance Miss E. Smith Mrs S. Harvey Mrs J. Rolt